CSA Spring Fever – Week Two

on

This week in my CSA box – what do you do with radishes?

No, seriously. What do you do with them?

I went to my pickup point yesterday and I’m happy I got some other nonperishable items, because the past week has been hectic and I only expect it to continue to be until after our wedding! Still, I was excited to see what we would get in our box. When we got the email on Friday, there were a couple “this item OR that item” things and it was like Christmas morning seeing what we ended up with!

First up was the hydroponic lettuce head.

img_3354

And next was was one of our “this or that” options – it was either going to be bok choy OR mesclun mix.

Drumroll please…

img_3353

Mesclun Mix! We are definitely going to need to eat some salads this week, but I’m happy it wasn’t bok choy because I feel like this is easier to use and throw together with where I currently am in my cooking progress (haha). Between the head of lettuce and this large container of mix I’m thinking we can make a dinner salad of some sort over the next few days, and still have leftovers.

img_3359

This is a nice, large container of applesauce. There are literally only two ingredients – no added sugar in this one, obviously! I have been meaning to try and make my own applesauce but haven’t, so it was great to have some from Penn’s Corner.

Next up – honey!

(Ooh, look at the fun things WordPress can do with the images!)

I’ve seen this honey at Giant Eagle so it was cool to get a nice little bottle to try out.

The big(ha) thing I need to figure out how to use is radishes. I got the cutest bunch of cherry belle radishes but I think I’ve literally never bought them for ANYTHING. I think the last time I ate a radish was…well, a long time ago.

If anyone has any good radish recipes send them my way! I was originally going to try and use the greens to make pesto, but after seeing how tiny they were and the state of the greens I decided just to use my kale from last week. I guess I can slice them up and put them in a salad, but that feels so unoriginal!

One cool thing about my CSA’s pickup location is that I can donate items I won’t use. Our pickup person has a basket out with a note to leave items you know you won’t like and they will be given to a local food bank. I guess if this week is a major fail with the radishes, I will know to give them up in the future (or beets *shudder*) but I really want to try everything I get, so I figured I will see how it goes.

I also got “green garlic,” but honestly this looks like a spring onion of some sort to me?

img_3358

I don’t know. I used it in my pesto. I’ll let you know how it tastes.

My last either/or was cornmeal or polenta, and I was hoping for polenta because I have a ton of cornmeal already…

img_33571

And I got polenta! We are apparently supposed to refrigerate it, so we poured it into a glass jar. I really like the sound of the Sweet Buttered Polenta Pancakes with Summer Berries although the summer berries are currently not really in season yet.

img_3362

Lastly, our recipe from The Porch! This vinaigrette sounds pretty delicious, although I’m seeing a trend in recipes containing apple cider vinegar. I have a lot of vinegar, but that currently isn’t a type I have…so I guess I’ll have to grab some the next time I’m stocking up.

That’s it for this week’s box! I’ve already made the pesto (and I’ll post about that soon – it is going to work with me for lunch) and I’m thinking of a couple other things to make as well. So far, its going great!

Leave a Reply

